Drug Abuse Statistics Kentucky
Kentucky Overdose Statistics
What drug has caused the most overdose deaths in Kentucky?
Opioids in general, including heroin and prescription pain medication like morphine or Oxycontin. 90% statistic.
What Kentucky county has the most overdose deaths?
- Knott 121.69
- Clark 104.3
- Bourbon 98.43
- Henry 87.97
- Carter 82.34
Kentucky Drug Laws
In Kentucky, drugs are categorized into five schedules. The punishment for possession and trafficking (selling, manufacturing or distributing) of these scheduled substances depends on the amount of the drug and which schedule it falls under.
Kentucky Drug Possession Laws
There are 3 degrees of possession under Kentucky Law: first, second and third.
|Degree||1st Degree Possession||2nd Degree Possession||3rd Degree Possession|
Heroin, LSD, Marijuana, Ecstasy, MDMA, Codeine, Cocaine, Fentanyl, Hydrocodone, Oxycodone, Methadone, Morphine, PCP
|Meth, Amphetamines, Adderall, Vyvanse, Anabolic steroids||Tramadol, Diazepam (Valium), Lorazepam (Ativan), Lyrica, Robitussin-AC, Low dose narcotics (Tylenol & Codeine)|
|Jailtime||1 to 5 years or $3,000 to $5,000 or both||1 to 5 years or $3,000 to $4,000 or both||1 to 5 years or $3,000 to $4,000 or both|
Possession Law Considerations
- Multiple Possession Charges: If you are charged with drug possession more than once, the courts will lean towards harsher sentencing.
- Marijuana: Even though marijuana is technically a Schedule I drug, the maximum jailtime that you can receive for possession is 45 days.
Kentucky Probation and Parole Drug Testing
If you are on probation or parole in Kentucky, you will be randomly drug tested to ensure you are following the rules of the program.
If your corrections officer suspects you are using, they can order a test to check.
- Cheating a drug test for parole or probation in Kentucky is a felony.Fact Checked
Drug Testing Laws for Welfare
Kentucky does not drug test welfare recipients.
In 2011, Kentucky lawmakers tried to pass a bill that would require anyone receiving federal public assistance or Kentucky Medicaid to be drug tested once per year. Ultimately, the bill was struck down as unconstitutional.
Kentucky Drug Court
Kentucky’s Drug Court program is available to non-violent drug offenders facing legal trouble because of their addiction.
Drug court is a coordinated effort between law enforcement, the Kentucky court system and treatment professionals. The goal is to help people who are struggling with addiction rather than punish them.
The goal is to help people who are struggling get back on their feet rather than punish them. Instead of jail time, people enrolled in drug court have to meet several requirements.
Requirements for Kentucky Drug Court
To qualify for drug court, participants must:
- Attend all required counseling sessions and court appearances
- Maintain contact with court staff once per week
- pass weekly random drug tests
- Maintain full-time employment (or school)
- Pay all required court fees on time
Drug Court Duration
After completing the program, the court will either dismiss your charges or grant you conditional discharge with probation.
Drug court for misdemeanor charges lasts fifteen months minimum. Felony drug court lasts 18 months minimum.
Kentucky Alcohol Statistics
Kentucky Alcohol Laws
Kentucky’s 120 counties decide for themselves if and how they want to restrict alcohol sales. Recently, the law changed allowing bars and restaurants are to sell alcoholic drinks “to-go” with the purchase of food. Each county falls into one of three categories: wet, dry and moist.
All other Kentucky counties are wet counties where alcohol sales are allowed:
Adair, Anderson Barren, Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Bracken, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Campbell, Carroll, Christian, Clark, Cumberland, Daviess, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Hancock, Harrison, Henderson, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Kenton, Lee, Lyon, McCracken, McCreary, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Meade, Metcalfe, Nelson, Nicholas, Oldham, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Powell, Robertson, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Trigg, Union, Warren, Wayne, Wolfe, Woodford
Alcohol Sales in Kentucky
Kentucky’s laws surrounding the purchase of alcohol are similar to other states- you must be 21 to buy and consume alcoholic beverages and must present a valid ID at the time of purchase.
Statewide alcohol laws permit alcohol purchases from 6 AM until midnight every day except Sundays.
Drug Abuse Treatment Centers in Kentucky
The Top 5 Kentucky Substance Abuse Articles
If you are looking for treatment in Owensboro, you have options – even if you don’t have insurance. We review…
Addiction treatment is covered by insurance companies as an essential health benefit. The Affordable Care Act mandates that any insurance…
Get an Email With Updates on This TopicSubscribe NowX
Talk About Your Options for Treatment